New Caledonia

Discover 100 islands where you can explore countless natural sites and experience the fascinating culture.

New Caledonia is an archipelago with more than 100 beautiful islands located to the east of the Coral Sea and north of the Tasman Sea. The capital Noumea is known for its idyllic beaches and relaxed atmosphere with a touch of European flair. Encompassing Ouvéa, the Isle of Pines, Lifou, Tiga and Maré, the five islands that border Noumea are renowned for their natural beauty. Explore the Blue Hole of Hanawa on Ouvéa and Warrior’s Leap on Maré, the Jokin Cliffs on Lifour and the Isle of Pines’ Oro Bay on your island adventure.

The West Coast of the mainland (Grande Terre) boasts a rich cultural heritage including the petroglyphs of Montfaoué at Poya and the Foué site and its Lapita Potteries, as well as the stunning Heart of Voh mangrove and World Heritage-listed Poindimie’s lagoon. The East Coast is home to unique wildlife such as the pygmy seahorse, the stunning orang-utan spider, and cohorts of manta-rays and an extraordinary variety of corals and anemones.

The Great South is home to many natural and cultural sites including the ancient village of Prony, Ouen Island Blue River Park, and the Madeleine waterfalls and offers a stunning adventure playground.

New Caledonia is an island paradise.

Latin America, Africa & Polar Main Site